RCW 46.61.500 – Reckless Driving
Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving. Violation of the provisions of this section is a gross misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of not more than one year and by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars.
If convicted of reckless driving in Washington, the Department of Licensing (DOL) must suspend your drivers license for at least 30 days.
Often, Reckless Driving is charged after a car accident involving damage to property. We also see Reckless Driving charged in racing situations, where two or more cars are competing for speed. Another common reason that Reckless Driving is charged is when speeds approach or exceed 100mph. Known as a “speed only” Reckless Driving charge, the prosecutor proceeds on the theory that travelling at such a high speed is “willful and wanton disregard,” even if no accident occurred.
Speak with an experienced trial attorney and former prosecutor before making any decisions about your case.
Mr. Nagle accepts cases throughout Washington State, focusing on greater Snohomish and King Counties, including the following areas: Lynnwood, Everett, Mill Creek, Bothell, Edmonds, Arlington, Kenmore, Kirkland, Lake Stevens, Marysville, Mountlake Terrace, Mukilteo, Redmond, Seattle, Stanwood, Seattle, and Shoreline. Brett specializes in Snohomish County, serving the following zip codes: 98223, 98012, 98021, 98241, 98020, 98026, 98201, 98203, 98204, 98205, 98206, 98207, 98208, 98213, 98251, 98252, 98256, 98258, 98037, 98046, 98087, 98270, 98271, 98272, 98043, 98275, 98259, 98287, 98290, 98291, 98296, 98292, 98293, 98294.